Music lover

20601754804_f0a9702a99_z

We bought Laurel this Sweet Pea mp3 player a couple of years ago, but she’s really fallen in love with it this year. There are songs she will listen to 10 or more times in a row, so it’s a good thing it’s loaded with music I can mostly stand to listen to endlessly. (I’m not sure there are any songs Devin can stand to hear on repeat, so I’m only speaking for myself here.) Sometimes, you can tell she’s looping the songs so she can tease out more of the lyrics. I remember doing that when I was a kid, trying to imprint the words of a song into my brain, so it’s sweet to watch that habit repeating itself.

Some of Laurel’s current favorites are:

  • Paul Simon, “Graceland,” “Call Me Al,” “Homeless” and “Under African Skies”
  • Queen, “Fat Bottomed Girls” and “Bicycle Race”
  • Vashti Bunyan, “Diamond Day” and “Winter is Blue”
  • Simon & Garfunkel, “The Sounds of Silence”
  • Katy Perry, “Firework”
  • Anathema, “The Gathering of Clouds”
  • Gotye, “Somebody I Used To I Know”
  • Cocteau Twins, “Heaven or Las Vegas”
  • Patrick Wolf, “The City” and “House”
  • Giorgio Moroder, “Racer”
  • Angels and Agony, “Forward”
  • Ministry, “Halloween is Everyday”
Leave a Reply

